The Council of the University of Ghana, Legon (UG) has appointed the first substantive Dean for the School of Pharmacy (SOP) – Professor Isaac Julius Asiedu-Gyekye.

A product of Pyatigorsk State Pharmaceutical Academy in the Russian Federation, the council is convinced that Prof Asiedu-Gyekye has the potential to move the School of Pharmacy ahead, continuing with the good works of his predecessors. He is an accomplished and experienced practicing pharmacist registered with the Pharmaceutical Society of Ghana. He is also a fellow of the Ghana College of Pharmacists, serves on several boards and committees and a mentor to many. Prior to his appointment, he served as the first Head of Department (HOD) of the Pharmacology and Toxicology department from 2011-2016 during which he was also the Vice Dean of the School from 2012-2014 till the collegiate system was fully established.

With the appointment of Prof Isaac Julius Asiedu-Gyekye, University of Ghana School of Pharmacy has gotten its first Dean, since it was established in 2007.

The University of Ghana School of Pharmacy is a constituent School of the College of Health Sciences, University of Ghana. The School was established to produce world class pharmacy professionals at the tertiary level in Ghana. The School has seen tremendous advancement over the years due to the commitment, diligence and hard-work of its leadership, faculty and staff.

As the leading institution in providing academic and professional training in pharmacy in Ghana at the under-graduate level, the School has provided the sub-region with well-trained pharmacist who are in various leadership positions within the country and across Africa.

Currently, the School runs a six-year Doctor of Pharmacy (PharmD) and Postgraduate programs.

Previous acting Deans since the establishment are as follows:

Prof. Arthur Commey Sacekyfio : 2007 - 2012

Prof. Alexander Kwadwo Nyarko: 2012 - 2016

Prof. Isaac Julius Asiedu-Gyekye: 2016 - 2019


Congratulations Rev. Professor I.J.Asiedu-Gyekye !!!